Last walk!

But this walk

in the  crown jewel

with mother and  father  

this path

this alley

the valley awash in green

lush 

the steps so retraced

a million times

the clobber by the roadside

the signboards

the turns

the faces familiar

the shadows so known

no fear touched the heart

no fear seemed near

nothing forlorn 

the garden lit outside

with myriads of hopes

beckons and calls

and I wish to cling on

to the post of my bed

and shake my head

so familiar is the floor

so  dear each door

O my walk in the crown jewel

O Mother!

O Father! 

(From “Iola”. May Allah bless you with all you want. Yes yes I would pray for you whenever I remember you).

Leave a Reply

