A Farewell

Peeping in every few minutes

My precious still there

The world beckons for her

And I know she cannot remain

That bed will be empty

The room for once tidy

The rituals will have to change

Her scent, though it may linger

But it too will dissipate

Last loving glance

At sleeping beauty

Suddenly she seems changed

No longer as childlike as I recall

My child nonetheless

Who will protect her

How will I tame my instincts

Fear may engulf her heart

But mine feels torn apart

How will life go on

Who will I live for

Who will I care for

Who will I worry for

The Lord giveth 

And the world taketh away

(From KKT)

Leave a Reply

